Born Again: the Beginning of Salvation & New Life in Jesus Christ

Jesus prefaced these teachings with his famous teaching and statement: “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God” (John 3:3).
Note that Jesus said when a person is born again, he can “see the kingdom of God.”
Let’s rephrase it another way: “If a person is born again, he can see the kingdom of God.”
Then, His next statement is: “Unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God” (John 3:5-8).
First, someone can “see” the kingdom.
Then, later, someone can “enter” the kingdom.
Therefore, it could be – again, we are dealing with a glorious, holy mystery here, which cannot be “explained” – that there are actually four phases in a walk with God through Jesus.

Four Phases in a Walk with God
Beginning, born again
First phase, born of water and the Spirit
Second phase, living water become fountain springing up to everlasting life
Third phase, rivers of water flowing from spirit man

The first phase is being “born again.” A person is born, spiritually. They receive God – Jesus Christ – into their life and heart. Just like a person born in the natural, this person is just starting their new life in God through Jesus.
In reality, there are three phases of a walk in the Spirit. Let’s look at all three.